What?

Is Roland stupid? Probably … possibly …

IS IT JUST ME? You don’t have to answer that. I click on “shutdown” and I get a ‘pop-up’ message asking me if I’m “sure” I want to “shutdown”? I’m not that familiar with Windoze but if Apple are anything to go by the operating systems seem to have been designed and coded by a bunch of … who think that we’re all extremely stupid.

Of course I want to “shutdown”. That’s why I clicked on that option. As far as I’m aware there isn’t an option to click on something along the lines of: “I’ll have a short nap and have a think about it all.” Because I might think it would be fun, a bit of a laugh … If that were the case I probably shouldn’t have a computer at all. Yet … I use one every day. If any of you are old enough to remember what a bleedin’ pain it was to make corrections on a typewriter I think you’ll agree that computers, and their attendant word processing software, are a relatively progressive step forward. I’m no ‘stick-in-the-mud’. I wouldn’t write for Storyboard4 if I were. I don’t, however, like to be treated as if I were an imbecile.

But it’s all the rage right now. On the one hand there are “Terms and Conditions” in 6pt font size and several thousand words of them — or, if you’re very lucky, 7pt — on the other political parties who do think that you’re an imbecile.

UKIP (United Kingdom Independence Party) are, in many respects, the finest modern example of such behaviour. Paint your party as ‘anti-establishment’ while you stuff your leadership with unreconstructed neo-Thatcherites. Clever eh?

“malcontented”

‘We want to completely privatise health services’, says one candidate. ‘No we don’t; it might put off those former Labour voters we’re attracting’, says the UKIP leadership. ‘We don’t like “pufftas” and the like’, says another candidate. ‘Smack on the hand … very naughty’, say the UKIP leaders. Intriguingly similar to the Frente Nacional (National Front) in France. Formed, initially, by a bunch of malcontented Vichy-government apologists (collaborationists with the Nazis during WWII) they like ‘working class’ votes too. The European far-right like working class votes but only insofar as it advances their own very neo-free market interests.

Political parties such as the UKIP or FN are so opposed to the European Union (EU) that they are more than happy to take hundreds of thousands of Euros to advance their ‘protectionist’ projects. If there’s not a contradiction in there somewhere then I admit defeat. I have never argued that the EU should not be reformed. On the contrary, I believe Europe deserves a new type of ‘Union’. That is a challenge that Europe’s radical/revolutionary left needs to meet ✪

Copyright © Roland Wood for Storyboard4TM January 2015
or contact @Storyboard4